32 doctors in Maharashtra convicted for violating PCPNDT ACt


May 1, 2012, 02.17AM IST TNN

MUMBAI: Thirty-two doctors have been found guilty of violating the anti-sex determination law across the state till March 12. In all, 314 cases have been lodged in various criminal courts for violation of the Pre-Conception and Prenatal Diagnostic Techniques (Prohibition of Sex Selection) Act, 2003, or PCPNDT Act.

Two doctors in Mumbai were convicted by the Dadar metropolitan magistrate for advertizing sex-selection facilities. The doctors were fined Rs 30,000 and sentenced to three years’ rigorous imprisonment.

In 34 cases, decoys were used to expose those who carried out sex-determination tests and 14 doctors were subsequently convicted. The doctors have appealed against the orders of the lower courts. Nearly 215 cases have been filed for non-maintenance of records.

In 14 cases in Pune, doctors were fined by the Junior Magistrate First Class for non-registration of sonography machines.

The 2011 census shows that the general child sex ratio has improved from 922 to 925 females for every 1,000 males. In the 0-6 age group, this has deteriorated from 913 to 883. According to the health department, sex ratio of 952 is the expected average. “Considering this sex ratio and comparing it with the child sex ratio of 2011 census, nearly 4,68,680 female foeticides have occurred,” said an official.

Though the maximum decline is in Beed, the situation in six other districts-Buldhana, Washim, Hingoli, Parbhani, Jalna and Jalgaon-is also worrisome. The tribal district of Gadchiroli has witnessed the minimum decline.

Dr Jayesh Lele, secretary of the India Medical Association (Maharashtra) said, “Only two of the 32 doctors convicted belong to the IMA. We have been advising doctors to fill forms and maintain records properly. Sometimes doctors are not aware that forms have not been filled properly. They must be given an opportunity to improve. Such harsh measures will not help the government to catch the real culprits.”

Dr Kishore Taori said, “Many cases are old and a majority of doctors has been convicted for clerical errors such as improper filling of forms. Doctors are now taking paperwork more seriously. The real culprits are those who do not register their machines and carry out sex-determination tests.”

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Doctors signed into rural work, Maharashtra can’t place them « kracktivist
  2. Dr wutteshwar V. Tekulwar MBBS DMRD
    May 16, 2012 @ 16:39:32

    law pcpndt is failure due to garbage of paper work on registered ultrasonography clinic , where as culprits are those who do not register their machines and carry out sex-determination tests. Similarly china made sex determination blood test kit & mobile phone size ultrasonography machine are in market. how pcpndt keep control on them. Many of us surrendered sonography machine to apropriate authorty ( AA) & started work with CT Scan machines but AA make them compulsary to register their CT Scan machine under pcpndt act. how legally CT scan of pregnant ladies can be done; difficult to understand. But they say all imaging machine come under this act. then why you escaping digital cameras & mobile phone with cameras because tey are also imaging machines.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Beed’s Doc Death who fed foetuses to his dog « Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)
  4. drrajnicontractor md gynaec
    May 27, 2012 @ 07:12:19

    if real culprit will not sent behind bar then in future there will be no improvment in census 2021 female sex ratio will be definately on lower side govt inspite of knowing who r ivovleved in this female feticide activity but still they r not catch govt just interested to NUMBER OF INCERESING SEALING SONOGRAPHYMACHINE BUT THEY ARE NOT INTERESTED TO INCREASE NO FEMAE SEX RATIO IN SOCIETY

    Reply

  5. Trackback: BMC seals 4 USG machines in 2 days « Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)
  6. Trackback: Maharashtra to take ‘gandhigiri’ route to curb sex selection « Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)
  7. Trackback: Medical bodies to blackball doctors « Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)
  8. Trackback: Medical council suspends 13 docs over sex tests « Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)
  9. Expecting Intercourse
    May 22, 2013 @ 02:17:04

    Do you mind if I quote a small number of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your blog: https://fassmumbai.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/.
    I’ll aslo ensure to give you the proper anchortext hyperlink using your blog title: 32 doctors in Maharashtra convicted for violating PCPNDT ACt | Forum against Sex Selection (FASS). Please make sure to let me know if this is ok with you. Thanks

    Reply

  10. Walker
    May 22, 2013 @ 21:03:44

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d
    like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be enthusiastic about hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    Reply

  11. Lillie
    May 22, 2013 @ 22:00:40

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog. You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some
    material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

    Reply

  12. Nasse Muschi
    May 22, 2013 @ 23:01:21

    Hi. I was thinking about adding a backlink back to your
    site since both of our web sites are based around the same topic.
    Would you prefer I link to you using your site address: http://fassmumbai.
    wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/ or website
    title: 32 doctors in Maharashtra convicted for violating PCPNDT ACt | Forum against Sex
    Selection (FASS). Please let me know at your earliest
    convenience. Kudos

    Reply

  13. camel toe
    May 24, 2013 @ 05:18:36

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  14. http://www.lcvono.net.cn/mvnforum/mvnforum/viewmember?member=YIPBrock
    May 27, 2013 @ 02:47:55

    My developer is trying to convince me to move
    to .NET from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s trying none the less. I’ve been using Blogs Organizer on a
    number of websites for about 7 months and i am anxious about switching to an alternative platform.

    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there
    a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

    Reply

  15. Wilfred
    May 27, 2013 @ 03:43:08

    It is actually weird, i was on your site just 20 minutes before,
    when the web browser i use MX3 was freezing to death and trigged a
    Crash To Desktop, did you added some new plugins or
    modified something else which could perhaps cause such a behavior?

    I pay a visit to your internet site fairly regulary and in no way had this before!

    Reply

  16. Banana filling Girls
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 11:38:30

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyways, amazing blog!

    Reply

  17. Micah
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 20:52:16

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about,
    why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could
    be giving us something informative to read?

    Reply

  18. Medical Act
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 12:10:56

    I own a new tai-chi studio in the East. Believe this or not, I do not have a
    webpage still. The issue is I’m not certain whether to go with Blogger or Hubpages. I realize that I want more of a weblog feel than a internet site feel, if that makes any sense. I would like to have the ability to update my site with blog posts. Would you be capable of give a couple of pros and cons for going with either Blogger or Squidoo? I really need to come to a decision pretty quickly on this issue, cause does not make sense for me to have this facility without a internet site. It would be kind if you could give me some guidance. Please write to: finleymarin@gmail.com if you have some time left. Thanks, and btw great blog, i prefer my blog to be like the one you have one day!

    Reply

  19. Cow Jugs
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 19:44:14

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This type of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Reply

  20. Maureen
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 18:19:57

    Heya, i am a blogger same as you, and was curious
    if you ever before tried those addthis.com follow me buttons and if they are any good.
    I noticed they do load a pile of code, so i am not certain if
    its worth adding it, due the massive increase of KB of the total filesize.
    Do you have ever give it a shot? I am excited to hear
    what you think about that? Please sent me a message to
    maureenespinal@gmail.com if you have any working
    experience with those add-ons. Thx .. btw, luv the blog since
    months!

    Reply

  21. Agency Erotic
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 21:17:10

    Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a
    good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

    Reply

  22. Floppy Cow Melons
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 21:24:36

    Heya! My name is Marylou and I really just desired to say your blog website rocks!

    It’s amusing because I use to have a weblog that nearly had an identical web address: https://fassmumbai.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/ mine was only a few letters different. Anyhow, I’m a big admirer of your website and if you ever want a guest write-up please make sure
    to email me at: marylougentry@gmail.com.
    I absolutely love writing!

    Reply

  23. Building Ladies
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 02:43:29

    Greetings! My partner and I frequently write guest articles or blog
    posts for other blog site owners to help increase exposure to
    our work, as well as provide wonderful articles to site owners.
    It truly is a win win situation! If you’re interested feel free to contact me at: christinaverdin@gmx.net so we may discuss further. Many thanks!

    Reply

  24. Denys Defrancesco Brides
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 13:32:48

    Hi. Sorry to hassle you but I ran across your blog and discovered you’re using the exact same theme as me. The only problem is on my blog, I’m
    struggling to get the design and style looking like yours.

    Would you mind e-mailing me at: marshallfain@hotmail.
    com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your internet site:
    https://fassmumbai.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/ and
    will certainly be visiting frequently. Thank you!

    Reply

  25. Ruskies Youngsters
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 20:25:41

    Hi there admin, I just wanted to give you a brief heads up that your Web address: http://fassmumbai.
    wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/ is being
    flagged as a possibly malicious blog in my web browser
    firefox. I would highly suggest having someone look into
    it. You can lose a lot of site visitors due to this kind of issue.
    Best of Luck.

    Reply

  26. http://www.lelombrik.net/
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 01:14:28

    Hello. I was thinking about adding a hyperlink back to your blog since both of our sites are based around
    the same niche. Would you prefer I link to you using your website address:
    https://fassmumbai.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/32-doctors-in-maharashtra-convicted-for-violating-pcpndt-act/ or website title:
    32 doctors in Maharashtra convicted for violating PCPNDT ACt | Forum against Sex
    Selection (FASS). Please make sure to let
    me know at your earliest convenience. Thanks alot
    🙂

    Reply

  27. Lupita
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 10:57:31

    “32 doctors in Maharashtra convicted for violating PCPNDT ACt | Forum against Sex Selection (FASS)”
    ended up being definitely enjoyable and useful! Within the present day society that’s very
    difficult to accomplish. With thanks, Mamie

    Reply

  28. google
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 20:18:10

    Excellent, what a webpage it is! This webpage provides helpful data to
    us, keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a comment